# University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee GRADUATE STUDENT FELLOWSHIPS COMMITTEE 2020-2021 Annual Report

#### **Members**:

Name	Rank	Department	Term Ends
Sara Benesh	FAC	Political Science	2023
Dyanna Czeck	FAC	Geosciences	2023
Bonita Klein-Tasman, Chair	FAC	Psychology	2023
Elana Levine	FAC	English	2023
Jake Luo <sup>1</sup>	FAC	Health Informatics & Administration	2022
Gladys Mitchell-Walthour	FAC	African & African Diaspora Studies	2022
Valerica Raicu	FAC	Physics	2022
Sara VanderHaagen	FAC	Communication	2022
Dean Nardelli <sup>2</sup>	FAC	Biomedical Sciences	2021
Ryan Newton	FAC	School of Freshwater Sciences	2021
Gillian Rodger	FAC	Music	2021
Susan Rose	FAC	Helen Bader School of Social Welfare	2021
Dana Baldwin	AS	Grad School Fellowship Coord.	2021
Jason Puskar	Assoc Dean	Graduate School	2021
<>	Student		2021

<sup>&</sup>lt;> Vacant

1 No elected candidate (2022-E)

2 Repl. A. Azenabor (2021-E)

#### **Charter:**

#### **Functions/ Responsibilities:**

#### A3.05.3 Graduate Student Fellowships Committee

The Graduate Student Fellowships Committee determines and manages the application and selection process for graduate students applying for internal fellowships such as the Distinguished Dissertation Fellowship and the Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowship. The committee also recommends general policy changes related to fellowships to the Graduate Faculty Committee.

# (1) <u>Membership</u>

Fifteen (15) members as follows:

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Faculty Document No. 3370, November 18, 2021

- (a) Twelve (12) faculty elected from among the Graduate Faculty from the divisions of Arts and Humanities, Natural Sciences, Professions, and Social Sciences. Three members must be elected from each of these four divisions, and no more than one member may serve from any one department or non-departmentalized school or college. Faculty members are elected to staggered, three-year terms, and no member may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms or portions thereof. Elected members of the committee should reflect the range of disciplinary competencies in the university and represent the schools and colleges insofar as the size of the committee allows.
- (b) One (1) graduate student member appointed annually by the Student Association. Student members must be currently enrolled graduate students. Student members will not review fellowship applications or participate in closed meetings where applications are discussed.
- (c) The dean of the Graduate School, or designee, and fellowships coordinator of the Graduate School serve as ex-officio members.
- (d) The chair of the Graduate Student Fellowships Committee also serves on the Graduate Faculty Committee.
- (e) The Graduate Student Fellowships Committee will elect a chair from among its membership at its first meeting of each academic year.
- (f) The Graduate Student Fellowships Committee has the authority to declare vacant the seat of those committee members who fail to attend three (3) regular meetings in an academic year.

#### (2) Functions

- (a) Within the provisions of UWM regulations and practices, the committee formulates and implements procedures for allocation of available fellowship funds administered by the Graduate School. To this end, the committee annually establishes regular procedures that include but are not limited to application deadlines, nomination forms, review and selection procedures, and award announcements.
- (b) Following its designated application and selection procedures, the committee annually reviews applications and recommends fellowship awards for meritorious graduate students.
- (c) The committee makes recommendations to the Graduate Faculty Committee for general policy changes that relate to graduate fellowships across all programs. The committee may make such recommendations on its own initiative, at the request of the GFC, or at the request of the administration of the Graduate School.
- (d) On request of the administration of the Graduate School, the committee may assist in the assignment of other graduate student financial support awards.

(Document 2563, 3/15/07; UWM Administration approval, 5/11/07) (Editorially revised, 6/30/08) (Document 2780, 4/21/11; UWM Administration approval, 5/2/11) (Document 3180, 9/20/18; UWM Administration approval, 10/12/18)

#### **Meetings**:

- A. The Committee met four times during the 2020-21 academic year:
  - a. September 16, 2020
  - b. January 27, 2021
  - c. March 3, 2021
  - d. May 5, 2021
- B. The Committee reviewed and rated Distinguished Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) and Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowship (DGSF) applications, and selected award recipients for the 2020-21 academic year. The Committee awarded 18 pairs of fellowships in addition to 5 R1DDF fellowships. One DGSF awardee declined late, for a total of 17 DGSF and 18 DDF.
- C. Nominations received and fellowships awarded:

	<u>Nomir</u>	nations Received	Fellowships Awarded
a.	DDF	44	18
b.	R1DDF	18	5
c.	DGSF	79	17 (18 awarded, 1 declined)

D. List of 2021-22 Graduate Fellowship Recipients

## Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowship (DGSF) Awards

Last Name	First Name	Program	Degree
Ahmed	Tanvir	Engineering	PhD
Anisuzzaman	DM	Engineering	PhD
Davis	Rachel	Art	MFA
Davis	Taraleigh	Political Science	PhD
Fleischer	Aaron	Psychology	PhD
Hall	Lawton	Music	MM
Harms	Danielle	English	PhD
Hawkins	Stephen	Sociology	PhD
Katz	Benjamin	Psychology	PhD
Kim	Bethany	Philosophy	MA
Liuzzi	Michael	Psychology	PhD
Marciniak	Rudi	Health Sciences	PhD
Marcus	Lydia	Epidemiology	PhD
Miner	Barbara	Art	MFA
Oh	Sujin	Linguistics	PhD
Pyle	Katharine	Dance	MFA
Salem	Abdel Rahman Sameeh Hasan	Engineering	PhD

### Distinguished Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) Awards

Last Name	First Name	Program	Degree
Beckwith	Molly	English	PhD
Hasan	Alaa Sayed Mahmoud	Engineering	PhD
Hawkins	Maren	Public Health	PhD
Hoover	Elizabeth	English	PhD
Jones	Catherine	Anthropology	PhD

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Faculty Document No. 3370, November 18, 2021

Kim	Okgi	Linguistics	PhD
Lim	Paulina	Psychology	PhD
Menozzo Da Rosa	Eduardo Luiz	Geosciences	PhD
Minor	Greta	Psychology	PhD
Mohite	Siddharth	Physics	PhD
Prince	Kevin	Atmospheric Science	PhD
Rajaratnam	Vilashini	Chemistry	PhD
Scruton	Conor	English	PhD
Sergi	Clinton	Biological Sciences	PhD
Suh	Han Gyeol	Physics	PhD
Tokarek	Nathan	Kinesiology	PhD
Yi	Xueling	Biological Sciences	PhD
Zahn	Nicolas	Chemistry	PhD

# R1 Distinguished Dissertation Fellowship (R1DDF) Awards

Last Name	First Name	Program	Degree
AssadUzZaman	Md	Engineering	PhD
Borchardt	Susan	Geography	PhD
Prust	Logan	Physics	PhD
Speck	Bretta	Biological Sciences	PhD
Szymkowiak	Beatrice	English	PhD